So the last few days since my previous update have been very up and down. The weekend was chilled out but fun. Kind of sat on my butt for most of Saturday. I donno what is is about the weekends here but i seem to wake up at about 3pm feeling super dopey. Maybe my flatmate is drugging my tapas or something, I'll keep an eye out for olives stuffed with pills. So after my lengthy lie in I headed downtown to meet some friends at a random bar in the old town. Problem was I had no idea how to get there, or where the neighbourhood was... thanks very much Google Maps you massive piece of crap. Everytime I write an address it zips me half way around the world to Delaware to somewhere that isn't even remotely similar to what I searched for.
So after milling around for a while I realised I'd walked too far so headed back via some back streets. There was me thinking 'blimey, it's nice round here, people are hanging around the street corners and chatting, how lovely'. After a while I started noticing odd things... like the fact that the majority of these people 'hanging around' were women.. and rather scrunty women at that. Mostly with cigarettes drooping out of the side of their mouths and with cheap make up presumably applied with a garden trowel. And they were approaching random cars. Shit. I was in the fabled 'prostitute zone'. I got offered some action a couple of times... and followed by a pimp on a bike.
After some time I randomly bumped into my Swedish friend Andreas who was, coincidentally going to the same place as me. We found our way to, what I'd heard was an amazing little spanish place in the back of nowhere. Turns out we were the ONLY people in there and the bar staff were looking at us rather suspiciously. It was cool though, apparently an old bakery. And in keeping with the standard spanish decoration style, there was random crap stuck to the walls. Bikes, bits of meat, comical honking horns, what looked like old mechanical torture devices, you name it, it was stuck to a wall.
Post random banter we headed off to 'the african bar'... so named because it didn't actually have a name, but was another odd looking place with even more random crap stuck to the walls. Apparently it belonged to some fashion designer and he 'designed' it all, presumably whilst off his head cos the toilets weren't exactly practical for women (i'll save you the details) and the bar itself wasn't any better (think massive
*****OOOOOOHHHHHH!!!! I HAVE to int erupt myself there as I'm actually recording sounds out of my window right now. There's been a nasty storm for the last few hours (which I got caught in on my three hour walk home tonight) and I've been recording the thunder. Anyone who knows me well knows I'm on this search for the holy grail of the perfect thunder clap... and I *think* I have just recorded my best one ever. I may post it on here later if it's any good.
Getting back to it... yes, think massive tree in the middle of a tiny bar and that's about right. So the 8 or so of us stayed for a while, whilst the video of weird animals in cages played on repeat in the background reminding everyone of how futile mortality is.. or some pop-psychology nonsense like that.
We then moved to the world's smallest bar with the world's loudest, most broken speakers I've ever heard. They were so bad I had to leave after about five minutes. God, I felt like an OAP. I had to leave because it was too noisy. But in my defence, if speakers are being pushed beyond their range you can seriously damage your ears as distortion is worse than volume. I've just gone from being 'old' to being a 'nerd'...
So off we head to Bluesville again. I don't really like it in there. Infact, I haven't really found anywhere I've been massively keen on so far. Everyone here seems to like really small bars, which is cool, but you feel a bit isolated from the party that is Palma. I got talking to this Spanish guy and he ended up latching on to us for the rest of the evening. Which only consisted of us going to a lesbian bar. I was quite intrigued about until I realised I'd been there before. There was a large lesbian looking down on me from some stairs for quite a long time. She looked like Arnold Swartzeneggar when he dressed like a woman in Total Recall... "Twoo Weeeks".
Had to run home, for forty minutes, in the pouring rain. Except 'pouring rain' over here actually means 'DEATH RAIN'. It appears to only rain here when there's a storm... which happens quite a lot. So that was lovely, especially given that my limbs seem to go crazy when I'm drunk, with everything flying everywhere, and it causes me to pull my right calf muscle. It still hurts really bad now, three days later.
Sunday I watched some tv and msn'd my girlfriend. Write off.
Monday, yesterday, was very unpleasant. I can't really remember why. I think I was still tired and a build up of small unpleasantries got to me. After work I went out with the composer and met up with some of his friends. I wasn't in the mood and it is very difficult when you're surrounded by people talking another language to enjoy yourself. And it's completely my fault for not knowing the language. So I got annoyed at myself. I'd also had a Spanish lesson earlier and it hadn't gone as well as I'd hoped. I don't have the dominatrix anymore but a new lady called Victoria. She's incredibly pretty and very supportive, but that might not be what I need, as I think I learnt more with the dominatrix.
Anyway, I found myself leaving early on the evening, which brought me down more as I felt like I'd failed the evening. I found myself missing my friends and family again and last night was pretty difficult :( I'm only 'reporting' this as you can't expect the whole experience to be good, and yesterday and much of today I've been pretty down. Woke up today feeling pretty much the same, and was seriously starting to resent things I don't like about here. People's awful taste in music for one. Everyone seems to listen to this horrible 'boom, tah-tah, boom, tah-tah' rythm... and it ALL sounds exactly the same. The Spanish have a great pedigree in the arts, but modern music doesn't appear to be one of their strong points. I also get annoyed with the way that shops and services shut at, frankly, stupid and economically suicidal times. Banks shut at 2pm, supermarkets shut... well, I'm yet to get a handle on it but it's not cool whenever it is... and EVERYTHING shuts on Sundays... except random Sundays. This weekend was a random Sunday apparently. If I hear one more person try to argue WHY things should be shut on Sunday I think i'm going to... I donno... open a shop that ONLY opens on Sundays. Yes, I 'get' that it's nice to have a day when you don't do anything, but do you have to FORCE the whole nation to do nothing? If you want to go to the beach on Sundays, no-one's stopping you whether the shops are open or not. Grrrr. Sorry, I'm in a bad mood.
So enough moaning. I played table tennis tonight. I kicked some ass. Although had some stiff resistance in the form of a guy from Guam who played like a Chinese person, which instantly freaked me out. Like 'shit, he holds the bat like he's from China, he MUST be good'. And he was.
****... didn't finish writing that all last night so I'll carry on. It's now 10pm a day later, I'm exhausted. I had to get up early and walk for an hour to the center of town to go to the bank and get some money for my apartment deposit. The first bank say a flat "no". The second bank has a queue of one person... and it takes about 50 minutes to get served. They also say no. I then walk to the main Santander branch in Mallorca, this huge structure that literally scrapes the sky.
What I've noticed about all these banks is that they are huge buildings that tower over everything else in the area, you walk in obviously expecting a grand and impressive interior but are greeting with the equivalent of a scrunty little backstreet Norwich Union branch in Bradford complete with cigarette stained fluorescent lighting and computers from the 1970's. There'll only be one person dealing with the public, who will consist of one person... and yet whatever they do takes at least half an hour and requires thumbprints, multiple signatures and repeated walkoffs from the bank teller with whatever wad of paper they're dealing with.
But I'll stop moaning now. Actually, no I wont. The third and final bank wouldn't give me any money either. The most i can take out is 300 euros from the cashpoints and I need 800. So I rang up Lloyds, really so I could just moan at them about it too even though it totally isn't their fault. Had to get a taxi in to work (late) and by the time I'd arrived I was pretty pissed off... I was all ready to walk in all grouchy but was disappointed when I was reminded of how someone ripped the door handle off the entrance in superhuman style a few days ago... and that always makes me laugh. DAMNED LAUGHTER! It was funny though.
Apparently my work would help with money by paying some extra upfront to me... but it transpired that even doing that was a total pain in the ass thanks again to the antiquated and archaic banking system... but hopefully tomorrow I'll get 'some' sort of money at some point before I die.
Again, I must apologise for being down today. I've had a bit of a horrible week so far and I've been feeling a bit sorry for myself. I think it's just the culture shock finally kicking in and I'm starting to resent certain things and feel a little isolated and highly frustrated. I know it will pass and I made sure I did my background on culture shock before I arrived so was expecting it, but that doesn't make it any easier... in the same way that knowing you're going to die doesn't make it anymore pleasurable... if fact I'd suggest it makes it less pleasureable. Hopefully I'll wake up feeling more positive and things can move forward with my apartment.
Apologies for the lack of photos, to be honest, i just can't be bothered to upload any at the moment cos it takes so long to reformat everything... soz.
R