Sunday, 25 November 2007

The horror (now with video)

I'm sat here in my freezing cold flat trying to watch a badly dubbed version of 'Love Actually' to improve my Spanish skills. It's a pretty sad scene... but what makes it all the more sad is the APALLING family themed band busting out some classic shovelware musak trash outside my apartment. It's past eleven PM on a Sunday, the day I thought Spain was supposed to be asleep.

It appears though that these two middle aged irritants didn't get that memo and have set up shop, a very large and loud shop, in the small square opposite my building. There's about four children running around while their parents dance on the spot.

I really don't understand the whole thing, but most of all I don't understand the loudness. All my windows and doors are firmly shut, but it's still louder than the aforementioned cheese cluster of a film. Significantly louder. It's all ammunition to my understanding of the spanish lack of respect for personal auditory space.

Annoyingly, I am in the perfect sniper position but don't have the equipment to carry out the job. No-one would know it was me, there's buildings everywhere... and I have a clear shot.

ARGHHH, it's starting to get REALLY annoying now. The man keeps shouting "OLAY!". It's also sped up too, making it all the more intense.

I went to a nightclub on Friday night. It may have been a gay club. I only say that because the place wasn't exactly crawling with girls. I remember there was one who looked like a Russian prostitute who was stood on something, grabbing a speaker by the 'ears' and dancing to it's 'mouth' (the loud bit).

He just said 'OLAY!' again.

I also celebrated Thanks Giving for the first time, which was nice. Got invited to a meal in an American house and had some Guamain food, really nice. We all had to do a mini speech to say what we were 'thankful' for... now, i'm not terribly good at...

OOOOH, THEY'VE STOPPED!!!

anyway, yes, I'm not terribly good at outpourings of...

Urgh, no they haven't, they're off again...


...outpourings of honest emotion with no cynicism or sarcasm, so it was tough, but i AM thankful for a lot of things at the moment so it was pretty easy.

Work's still going good. I got some seriously needed time with a Nintendo DS dev kit and the whole mix of my game is really coming together well now... apart from the videos, which frankly sound like crap, but that's mostly down to us using a cheap and nasty video codec.

I ate some gammon the other day. It's been so long since I ate any, my taste in carcass must have changed over the years because I really liked it.

Spanish advertisements: there's a woman with massive breasts, wearing only a bra, underwear and a top hat... and a TIGER on her shoulders. She would be quite attractive if she didn't look so
rediculous.

Tomorrow I am going to another board game party... which despite the name is actually a lot of fun. That's immediately after my spanish lesson, which due to last weeks being a really good one will mean that it'll be a really slog. They seem to take it in turns.

Apologies for the dodgy formatting as usual. If you don't like it, complain to blogger. It's not my fault they suck.

Here's a video from my window of the horror. Bare in mind that the walls and windows of this building are about as useful as paper for keeping in sound (and heat)...



R

1 comment:

russ said...

hahaha you'll definitely have to invest in some sort of projectile launching device - maybe even a hand crafted one using lots of rubber bands might work?!

-russ