I would have updated this sooner, but alas i actually couldn't login. I forgot which name i'd used and couldn't find the 'forgot password' thing. Given that i work in the software industry you'd think I would be a little more techno savvy, but I guess i've just got one too many logins to remember nowadays.
Anyway, what's happened. Well, i've told my current audio department that i'm leaving, they didn't seem surprised until i told them where i was going. I think they all suspected i'd move to canada to be with my girlfriend... and to be honest, i think *I* am surprised at where i'm going too. The sad thing about leaving Blitz is that i've seen lots of people leave over the years and you quickly forget them and life goes on as usual. There's part of me that's saying "DON'T FORGET ME YOU BASTARDS, I'M GREAT!" but i guess that's rather selfish.
On the plus side though, my last day is going to be our 'company day' where we all go to a cinema to watch movies of our work and then go out for a BBQ and get really drunk. It'll be a great way to leave the company and I'm really looking forward to it. As long as i don't get the same questions asked by all 200 of the people there, i'm already finding my answers to questions have turned into 'stock answer number 3', etc...
When i went out on friday i inadvertantly told a load of people about my moving. It's quite strange to see people's reactions. I was suprised at the number of people saying 'congratulations'... which i thought was an odd sentiment. The HR manager's official response was "i'm very sorry to hear that robert, you're part of the furniture here and are always very happy and positive". Which was really nice, although you know it's time to leave when you're 'part of the furniture', chairs are great but you wouldn't want to hang out with them.
My stupid language book hasn't arrived still (thanks amazon) so i'm still without any spanish skills. Although i did watch a film last night that had some spanish in, does that count?
No, no it doesn't.
Went to see some estate agents this week. Man, those guys are just utter vultures. In addition they tend to be rude and unprofessional. Every one i went to was just trying to send someone to my flat wafting a contract in my face, all i wanted was to know their rate for managing not a big wad of information packs about how great it is to be a landlord when using Yada Yada & Co. By the time i went to the last one i was getting a bit rude.
"hello, welcome to blah-blah-blah"
"hello, i'm looking to rent my flat out in about 2 months, it's a..."
"when can we send someone round to look at it"
"i don't want anyone to come round, i just want to know your prices for full management"
"well, we'd need to send someone round to..."
"I DON'T want to do that, i just want to know your rate. Do you not have a standard rate?"
"well, umm, yes... but we generally like to organise appointments so we can discuss terms and..."
"so what is the rate?"
"it's, well, it's 12%... but we'd like to set up an appointment with you, the managers would like to see the flat"
"i'm sure they would, thank you, good bye".
I think i'm going to go with the one that was bullshit free and helpful rather than the fat woman who had a look on her face that said "why have you just pissed on my car?". Anyway, she's coming round next saturday so i have a week to do the place up a bit. I guess i should be doing stuff now, but i'm lazy and tired due to drinking far too much on friday night. Urgh, i don't remember much other than spilling a load of pasta down my friends sofa. Then breaking the sofa. Good move.
So i told my girlfriend about my move. Well, if you replace the word "I" with "big mouthed Ollie Clark". It was my fault for not telling her though, he wasn't to know that i was keeping it quiet. Anyway, she already knew i was going to do it anyway, but it's like putting a full stop on plans for us to be together for a while.
The annoying thing about moving to Mallorca, or infact anywhere where the main industry is tourism, is that it's INCREDIBLY difficult to find information that isn't based around the holiday\tourism sector. I'm hoping that i'll get plenty of help from my new collegeues when i arrive, here's to hoping they're not a big bunch of autistic aggrophobes.
I ate so much food last night that i thought i might actually puke. I ate, pitta bread and caramelised onion humous (four lots of), 150 grams of blueberries (i love those fuckers), a slice of edam cheese, half a large bag of massive marshmallows, two large curries with a naan and a litre of cranberry juice. I was 'urgh'ing quite a lot. I watched Black Hawk Down (for sound research, it won an oscar for audio mixing) and Man On Fire, which also had amazing sound design too. This is a boring paragraph but it's a sunday so get over it.
R
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment